Halloween just got a lot scarier for Virginia families.
Local governments have it on paper that if your kids are too old or stay out when it gets too dark then they could face criminal charges.
And these towns are threatening kids with up to six months in prison.
Chesapeake turns Halloween into a Red-Tape Nightmare
If you’re planning to let your kids trick or treat this year then you better brush-up on some local laws.
Virginia towns are banning children older than 12 from trick-or-treating with a penalty of six months in prison.
And if the officials don’t have the stomach to jail your kids they may just charge you with a hefty fine.
Chesapeake in Virginia bans any kid older than twelve from participating in “Trick-or-Treat”.
If your kids don’t comply, the town says they’re guilty of a misdemeanor and with a punishment of up to six months in prison.
And officials can tack on a $100 fine on top of that.
Luckily, any trick-or-treating past 8:00pm would only carry 30 days in jail at most; plus a possible $100 fine.
Most Hampton Roads Localities Carry the same Threats
Chesapeake isn’t the only one in on suffocating Halloween with red tape.
In Newport News and Norfolk any eighth grader or kid over 12 could be slapped with a Class 4 misdemeanor.
The same type of rule applies in Virginia Beach and Suffolk as well.
And a group of 10 and 11 year old kids may still face penalties if they go out without an adult.
Who picked the Government to run Halloween?
Most people know most laws and regulations already go too far.
Professionals and business owners know the hassle of redundant regulations and the severe penalties they can face for making even honest mistakes.
Does Halloween need to be treated like a government program?
Dragging police and criminal charges into a holiday for dressing-up and asking for candy seems like the last thing Virginia needs.
What do you think?
Should politicians regulate who can trick-or-treat? Or should families manage their kids themselves?
Leave your thoughts in the comments section below!